Wednesday, April 11, 2012

The 5 Love Languages of Children - Review and Giveaway

The 5 Love Languages of Children
Gary Chapman, PhD/Ross Campbell, MD
Northfield Publishing
820 N LaSalle Boulevard
Chicago, IL 60610
224 pages, softcover

ISBN 13: 978-0-8024-0347-6
ISBN 10: 0-8024-0347-6

If you could do one thing for your children to show them how much you care about and love them what would it be?  Would they appreciate it?  Are you sure?  Do you  feel like your children always want more from you?  Perhaps this book can help you find out what will reach, satisfy, and encourage your children.

Let me tell you a bit about this helpful book I recently received to provide this review. 
The 5 Love Languages of Children is written by Gary Chapman and Ross Campbell.  Gary Chapman, PhD is the author of The 5 Love Languages series and the director of Marriage and Family Life Consultants, Inc.  Ross Campbell, MD is the author of How to Really Love Your Child and an authority on parent-child relationships. The two authors have also coauthored How to Really Love Your Adult Child.

This book is a fairly quick read and contains many practical examples showing how to figure out what really motivates and touches your child.  Here's what you'll find inside:

According to the authors The 5 Love Languages are:
  1. Physical Touch - touches, hugs, kisses, physical contact
  2. Words of Affirmation - words of affection and endearment, words of praise and encouragement, words that give positive guidance
  3. Quality Time - undivided attention, doing things together, positive eye contact, quality conversations, reading a story
  4. Gifts - giving and receiving symbols of love
  5. Acts of Service - helping, doing things for the child
In addition to describing the 5 Love Languages, the book also covers:
  • How to Discover Your Child's Primary Love Language
  • Discipline and the Love Languages
  • Learning and the Love Languages
  • Anger and Love
  • Speaking the Love Languages in Single-parent Families
  • Speaking the Love Languages in Marriage
There are also Notes, More Help for Parents, and the Love Language Mystery Game (which helps you discover your child's love language and helps them discover their love language).

For a free online study guide visit the website here .

To check out other resources regarding the book visit here .  Or to find out more about The 5 Love Languages series visit here .

There is even a Facebook page here .

If you'd like to see what's new or follow Mr. Chapman visit his Twitter page here
"Why did I read this?" or "I really need to share this book!"   Well, obviously, the choice here is the second.  This book has the potential to help you understand your child, make them feel loved and encourage them in the best way possible.  This was a good book with practical thoughts and ideas.  Much like the other Love Language series books, the 5 languages are discussed with specific regard to your relationship with your children.  We all know that all children are different, but in these pages you'll gain a bit more perspective and hopefully some useful ideas to reach out to your children.  I think this would be a great book for all parents to read.

If this books sounds interesting/helpful to you then there's something else you need to know.  I'll be drawing one lucky winner to receive a copy of the book on April 18, 2012. 

Here's how to enter:
1.  To enter visit then come back here and tell me something you found that was interesting on the site.  This one is required--mostly so you'll find out what other great resources are available.

2.  For another entry sign-up to get my posts by e-mail, and let me know in a comment.

3.  For 3 entries share this giveaway on Facebook or Twitter then come back here and tell me.
Good luck to all who enter!  Blessings!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received the product mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255; “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”



Birdie said...

I found out my love language is words of affirmation (9) followed by quality time and physical touch (8s). I don't care at all about acts of service (apparently) and very little about receiving gifts ;) I'd say this is *very* accurate as I often refer to myself as a praise addict (I actually use a slightly different less Grated version!) and I'm always looking for snuggles and undivided attention :D

Birdie said...

Shared on Facebook :)

Kimberly said...

Neat that there is an app that goes right along with the book :)

Lori said...

Just finished reading the 5 Love Languages book. It would be very interesting to get the childerens spin on it! It is the 2nd time I've read the book and I think I got just as much out of it the 2nd time.

Some Great Links

Blog Button photo BlogButton_zps9d4cfbd4.jpg Mama Jenn